Classic Southern Dessert Series: Lemon Bars

15 Jun

I just bought the most amazing dessert cookbook, Classic Southern Desserts by Southern Living and I am loving pretty much every recipe in it.  I am a true Southern girl at heart although we only lived in the South for about 5 years.  Because I am digging this cookbook so much, I decided to start my first series on this blog.  Occasionally, I will feature a recipe from this book and the first is Lemon Bars.

I love just about any lemon dessert you may throw at me but I have never made or eaten lemon bars.  I truly do not know how I have gone almost 25 years without trying them out.  It really is a shame that I have wasted all this time and I may have to make up for it with these little babies.

Lemon Bars
Recipe from Classic Southern Desserts by Southern Living

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup powdered sugar, sifted
1 cup butter, softened
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 cups granulated sugar
2 Tbsp. cornstarch
5 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 tsp. lemon zest
1/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice
2 Tbsp. butter, melted
1/4 cup powdered sugar

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine first 4 ingredients; beat at medium speed with an electric mixer until blended. Pat mixture into a greased 13×9 baking dish. Bake for 18 minutes or until golden.
2. Combine 2 cups granulated sugar and cornstarch. Add eggs and next 3 ingredients; beat well. Pour mixture over crust.
3. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until set. Let cool completely and chill well.
4. Sift 1/4 cup powdered sugar over top. Cut into bars.

Linked to Cupcake Apothecary, Sweet as Sugar Cookies, Everyday Sisters and Sharing Sundays.

7 Responses to “Classic Southern Dessert Series: Lemon Bars”

  1. Jenn@eatcakefordinner June 19, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    I can’t believe you had never had a lemon bar before? I love them and this recipe sounds delicious.

  2. Alyssa June 20, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Hi! I’m having a linky party called A Themed Baker’s Sunday and this weeks theme is Citrus! This includes: Lemon, Lime, Orange, Grapefruit!
    Also, Enter to win my Free Giveaway!!!

    http://cupcakeapothecary.blogspot.com/2011/06/themed-bakers-sunday-10.html

    Alyssa

  3. Beth - Slice of Southern June 20, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    OMG my mom LOVES lemon bars…I’m so going to make these for her! thanks for the recipe!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Turtle Bars {Classic Southern Dessert} « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - July 5, 2012

    [...] the pages for something simple and delicious. The first recipe I made from this cookbook was Lemon Bars and looking back at that post made me realize how much my photography has improved in a year. [...]

  2. Lemon Dill Chicken Skewers « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - January 31, 2013

    [...] so I have totally been on a lemon kick lately. Lemon Bars, Pork Souvalki, Lemony Greek Potatoes. And this recipe is no exception. I’ve bought too many [...]

  3. Brownie Nests | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - March 27, 2013

    [...] Cherry Dump Cake – Joel’s favorite Lemon Hush – my favorite Key Lime Cheesecake with Fresh Strawberry Sauce Jello Cookies Cherry Limeade Cupcakes Classic Southern Lemon Bars [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,680 other followers

