Easy Blueberry Skillet Cake

5 Jun

I love Paula Deen.  I know many of you out there don’t but I find her hilarious and charming.  That being said, I don’t make a lot of her recipes due to the usual caloric intake.  When I saw this recipe made for a Mother’s Day special by her sons, I knew it was something that we had to try.

This was soo easy to make due to the store-bought biscuits and simple steps.  This looks and tastes so fancy, like you worked on it all morning but it came together in about 5 minutes.

I don’t have a cast-iron skillet and my pans are not oven-proof so I used a pie plate instead with perfect results.  I’m sure it would be better in a cast-iron skillet though as it would create a nice, crispy bottom on the biscuits.

This was one of the yummiest streusel’s I have ever had.  I love almonds and they just put it over the top.

Another problem I ran into was that I couldn’t find a 12-oz. container of pre-made biscuits.  So instead I used a 10.5-oz (which was 5 biscuits).  I went with less because we would rather our cake be a litter saucier rather than drier.

The whole house smelled of blueberries and cinnamon…how could you go wrong?

Easy Blueberry Skillet Cake

Streusel Topping:
1/4 cup slivered almonds
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) unsalted butter
2 1/2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Coffee Cake:
2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) unsalted butter
1 tablespoon light brown sugar
1 (12-ounce) tube buttermilk biscuits
1 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen and thawed

1. For the streusel topping: Combine the almonds, sugar, butter, flour, and cinnamon in a food processor and pulse until large crumbs form.
2. For the coffee cake: Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. In a 9-inch cast-iron or other ovenproof skillet, cook the butter and brown sugar over medium heat until melted.
3. Arrange the biscuits in a single layer in the skillet. Scatter the blueberries over the biscuits, and then distribute the streusel topping over the berries.
4. Bake until the biscuits are golden and a tester inserted in the center of a biscuit comes out clean, about 30 minutes. Allow to cool slightly and serve from the skillet.

2 Responses to “Easy Blueberry Skillet Cake”

  1. Lisa @ Sweet as Sugar Cookies June 12, 2011 at 2:23 am #

    That cake looks simply delicious. I bet it would be so good with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your cake up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/06/sweets-for-saturday-21.html

    • Meg's Everyday Indulgence June 12, 2011 at 8:05 am #

      I just linked my cake! Thanks so much for the invitation! Your blog is amazing and I absolutely love your sweet treat party, so creative!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,677 other followers

