Broccoli and Four Cheese Calzones

1 Jun

I’m pretty sure these are the best calzones I have ever made!  I love broccoli and am always looking for new ways to use it and I’m sure glad I stumbled across this recipe!  I would have never thought of adding broccoli to pizza or a calzone but it is sooo good.  If you don’t like broccoli or don’t feel like going vegetarian for a meal, replace it with pepperoni or sausage as I did for my husband.

I normally make pizza dough homemade but to simplify this for a weeknight meal, I used one loaf of Rhodes white bread which I set out (in a loaf pan) in the morning so it would thaw and rise.  This makes this meal pretty quick and easy to throw together.  It will yield 2 large or 4 small calzones.

I made a few adaptations due to our tastes and what I had on hand.  I had slices of provolone from the deli so I simply diced it into strips.  We did not have any parmesan cheese so I subbed a bit of Gorgonzola instead.  Fresh broccoli was used rather than frozen and the calzones were baked at a different temperature.  This in an incredibly adaptable recipe so use your imagination!

Broccoli and Four Cheese Calzones
recipe adapted from allrecipes.com

1 loaf Rhodes White Bread, risen
1 cup broccoli florets
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 cup shredded provolone cheese
1/4 cup Gorgonzola cheese
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup ricotta cheese
1 tablespoon olive oil
Kosher salt
Dried basil

1. To make the filling, lightly steam the broccoli. In a large skillet saute the broccoli, garlic powder and onion powder with the olive oil. Stir in the grated provolone cheese, grated Parmesan cheese, grated mozzarella cheese, and ricotta cheese.
2. Roll the dough into circles.  Spread filling on one half of the circle leaving a border around it for closing. Close the calzone by folding the unfilled side on top of the filled side. Crimp the edges closed with your fingers or a fork. Place on a lightly greased baking pan.
3. Brush tops with olive oil then sprinkle lightly with kosher salt and basil . Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 30 minutes or until golden brown.

One Response to “Broccoli and Four Cheese Calzones”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easy and Delicious Stromboli « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - January 14, 2013

    [...] of pizza Joel likes). So I like to mix up our pizza nights every now and then with stromboli or calzones. I totally cheat and use frozen bread dough rather than making pizza dough to make this easy and [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,587 other followers

