Cucumber Salad

21 May

This is one of my favorite foods ever.  I love cucumbers and this is such a delicious, vinegar-y side dish that I could eat all by myself.  And I do since my husband doesn’t like cucumbers.

I’ve never had a recipe for this salad.  It’s one that I learned watching and helping my mom in the kitchen.  I once again had to measure as I made this so that I could give you all the correct ingredients. This is really one that I just taste as I go and add more of an ingredient until it tastes just right. 

The amount of ingredients really depends on your tastes.  I love vinegar so I put quite a bit in to make it zippy.  If you prefer a more mellow cucumber salad, add less.  The sugar also helps balance the zing of the vinegar.

Cucumber Salad

1-2 English cucumbers, peeled and thinly sliced
1/3 cup mayo (I use light)
1 1/2 – 3 Tbsp. vinegar
2 tsp. milk
1 1/4 tsp. sugar
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper, freshly ground

Combine mayo, vinegar, milk, sugar, salt and pepper. Stir in cucumbers. This is best if it’s made the night before.

3 Responses to “Cucumber Salad”

  1. Kerry May 30, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    Love this recipe! I did use malt vinegar instead as that is my favorite! Thanks for sharing all your great recipes!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cucumber Tomato Salad | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - April 22, 2013

    [...] I know I have already shared a couple cucumber salad recipes with you all (here and here) but Noah and I are big cucumber fans and we go through quite a few every week. Because [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,669 other followers

