Baked Macaroni and Cheese

11 May

This is the ultimate comfort food in our house.  Whenever I eat this, it totally takes me back to my childhood.  We very rarely had the “blue box” and I plan to keep it that way in my house.  The love of mac-n-cheese was almost ruined for my brother and I when my dad didn’t dice the onions small enough and we detected them.  Remember the drama and over exaggeration from the sloppy joes?  I’m sure it applied in this situation too.  Since then, we have gone onion-less so I continue to keep it that way but you can surely add them to taste if you wish. 

This is something I learned by watching and helping my mom in the kitchen.  I have never actually seen a recipe for this written out so I actually had to measure out ingredients to share this with you all.  This is just the ultimate reminder of family and it means so much to us.  This is another family dish that is at every holiday and special occasion table.  Special days wouldn’t be the same without it.

This recipe can be changed up so easily and can be made into a meal by adding shredded chicken, broccoli or crumbled Italian sausage.  We usually use all cheddar (16 oz.) but occasionally I like to change it up by substituting some of the cheddar for gouda or pepperjack (or any other cheese that you love).  This time we went with pepperjack for an added zing.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

16 oz. pasta (we usually use shells or cavatelli)
4 Tbsp. butter
1/4 cup flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper
2 cups milk (I use skim and it’s still satisfying and creamy)
8 oz. sharp cheddar, shredded
8 oz. pepperjack, shredded
2 oz. Velveeta (for added creaminess without a “processed” taste), optional

Topping:
1 1/2 Tbsp. butter, melted
1/2 cup bread crumbs

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cook noodles according to al dente directions.
2. Meanwhile, melt 4 Tbsp. butter in a medium saucepan. Add flour to make a roux and cook for 1-2 minutes to cook away the flour taste.
3. Slowly add the milk to the roux.  Cook for several minutes until the mixture has thickened. Stir in salt and pepper.
4. Add the cheese and stir until melted.
5. Mix cooked noodles and cheese sauce in a 13×9 baking dish. Combine topping ingredients and sprinkle over mac-n-cheese.
6. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

Linked to This Week’s Craving and Sharing Sundays.

4 Responses to “Baked Macaroni and Cheese”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Noah’s 1st Birthday! « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - July 19, 2011

    [...] pasta salad, potato salad, layered salad, fruit and veggie trays with yummy dips, baked beans, mac-n-cheese, Elmo sugar cookies, cake and ice cream. I will be sharing the recipes very soon with you [...]

  2. Smoked Ribs and BBQ Rub « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - September 7, 2011

    [...] to smoke and so amazingly fall-off-the-bone delicious! Joel took care of the ribs and I prepared macaroni and cheese and baked beans. I also mixed up a sweet, smoky and spicy barbecue rub for the [...]

  3. Stovetop Sausage Mac-N-Cheese « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - November 28, 2012

    [...] up. But seriously, what’s not to like about pasta covered in cheese? I’m normally a baked mac-n-cheese kind of girl but this creamy stovetop version definitely got me thinking. It’s so simple to [...]

  4. Broccoli and Cauliflower Au Gratin « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - January 30, 2013

    [...] used the cheese sauce from my macaroni and cheese then mixed it with broccoli and cauliflower and topped it with panko bread crumbs for a delicious [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,637 other followers

