Sloppy Joes

9 May

These delicous sloppy joes are made in less than 30 minutes for a simple weeknight meal.  The addition of barbeque sauce makes these a little smoky adding a new twist and tang to the standard sloppy joe.  Pile this high on a bakery bun and serve alongside creamy coleslaw or pasta salad.  To make these a little healthier switch out the ground beef for ground turkey or chicken.  Yum!

This is one of those meals that I claimed to hate as a child.  There really isn’t anything to not like about a sloppy joe so I was probably just being complicated and dramatic.  I’m known to do that sometimes……

Sloppy Joes

1 lb ground beef
2 -3 stalks celery, chopped
1 small onion, chopped
1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce
1/4 cup ketchup
1/4 cup barbecue sauce
1 tablespoon firmly packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon dry mustard
salt and pepper to taste
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon vinegar

1. In a large skillet, brown ground beef, celery and onion. Drain the fat.
2. Stir in remaining ingredients and simmer for 15-20 minutes.

Linked to Everyday Sisters!

3 Responses to “Sloppy Joes”

  1. natural remedies July 19, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

    Hello, I enjoy reading all of your post. I wanted to write
    a little comment to support you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Buffalo Chicken Lettuce Wraps « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - June 15, 2012

    [...] Ever since devouring politely eating several lettuce wraps at P.F. Changs during a trip to Minneapolis a few months ago, I have had lettuce wraps on my mind and have made several different and unique varieties. I made these yummy buffalo chicken ones when my mom came to visit recently and they were a huge hit. Just a few short years ago, I wouldn’t eat lettuce…not on sandwiches, not a salad and definitely not as a replacement for a tortilla. So, needless to say, it still surprises my mom when I make, eat or crave meals like this. I’m sure she chalks it up to me being difficult. [...]

  2. Loaded Potato Skins « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - October 5, 2012

    [...] way too much time considering the menu for football games. These would be wonderful served with sloppy joes or shredded french dips! Potato [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,640 other followers

