Peanut Butter Eggs

20 Apr

Peanut butter eggs are an absolute must for Easter in our house!  I have to say that the combination of peanut butter and chocolate is one of my all time favorites.  This year, I decided to change it up a little after seeing these adorable eggs at Picky Palate.  Rather than using chocolate, pastel candy melts are used to cover the peanut butter eggs. 

I decided to go with this recipe for the eggs, it looked too delicious to resist.  I halved it as I didn’t think we would need 28 eggs (I provided the full recipe though).  After tasting them, I’m kind of regretting my decision.  I bet I could eat 5 in one sitting….but I won’t….hopefully.

These would be great to make for the neighbors or to bring to your Easter gathering.  It would also be fun to pipe each person’s name (in a coordinating candy melt color or chocolate) on the eggs to make them a little more special and personal.

Although they are messy to make and a little time consuming, they are so fun and taste much better than the store-bought variety.  This would be a great recipe to do with your kids.  I hope you enjoy these and have a wonderful Easter!

Peanut Butter Eggs
makes 28 3×2 eggs

1/4 lb butter (1 stick), softened
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
2 lbs powdered sugar
1 1/2 cups peanut butter
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 teaspoon salt
Pastel candy melts (these can be found at any craft store in their baking section)
Sprinkles

1. Mix the butter and cream cheese together.
2. Add the powdered sugar about 1 cup at a time and mix well.
3. Add the peanut butter, vanilla, and salt, and mix until well blended.
4. Place the mixture in the refrigerator to chill for at least 1 hour (I stick the bowl in the freezer for about 1/2 hr., to harden the dough).
5. Form the peanut butter mixture into egg shapes, then refrigerate again for at least 1 hour (Again, I put them in the freezer instead of the fridge).
6. Melt the candy melts in the microwave or in a double boiler.
7. With a knife, spread the candy melts all along the sides and top of the egg, then with the knife fluff the top of the melts to make the eggs look pretty. Just press down on the melts and lift up with a butter knife. Do it all over the top of the egg.  I simply put them in the melts upside down then covered the sides using a spoon.
8. You have to work quickly while the eggs are frozen, as the heat from the melts makes them soft again rather quickly. If you notice them getting too soft, stick them back in the freezer for a few minutes.
9. Arrange the coated eggs on a waxed paper lined tray and allow the melts to harden. (I stick mine in the freezer for easier handling when coating with the candy melts).
10. Place each peanut butter egg in a paper candy cup.
11. You can decorate your eggs with sprinkles if you wish.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,677 other followers

