Homemade Poptarts

17 Apr

I think many of us can admit that we have gone to poptarts for a quick, on-the-go breakfast more than once in our life.  While they may not have the healthiest ingredients and sometimes resemble cardboard more than a pastry I have eaten my fair share of them.

When I came across this recipe at Brown Eyed Baker I knew it was something that we had to try.  They took quite a bit of time but they are so much better than the boxed variety and you know every ingredient in them.  If you don’t have the time or inclination, you can simply buy premade pie crust and follow the directions with similar results.

These are light, flaky and chewy unlike the store-bought version.  I made some with a powdered sugar glaze and sprinkles to look like the “real thing” and I left some plain.  My husband preferred them with the glaze and I without.  Either way, they are great!  I only made the strawberry filling but will definitely try the brown sugar cinnamon next time as that is my favorite variety.

If you have another fruit filling in mind (blueberry, cherry, apple…) just replace the strawberry jam with your flavor option and follow directions as listed.  If you try another filling flavor, let me know how it turns out!  Each filling recipe makes enough for 9 poptarts so if you want to try both, scale the filling amounts down.

Homemade Poptarts

For crust:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 Tbsp. sugar
1 tsp. salt
1 cup unsalted butter, cold and cubed
1 egg
2 Tbsp. milk

For strawberry filling:
3/4 cup strawberry jam
1 Tbsp. cornstarch
1 Tbsp. water

For brown sugar cinnamon filling:
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
4 tsp. all-purpose flour

For glaze:
2/3 cup powdered sugar
milk to slightly thin

1. Prepare the strawberry filling by whisking together the cornstarch and water. Combine with the jam in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil and simmer for 2 minutes, stirring frequently. Remove from heat and let cool.
2. For the brown sugar cinnamon filling, whisk together all ingredients well.
3. To make the crust, whisk together the flour, sugar, and salt. Using your fingers or a pastry blender, work in the butter until it is the size of peas and the mixture holds together when you squeeze it. Whisk together the egg and milk and add to the dough. Mix together with a fork until everything is evenly moistened. Knead briefly on a floured surface, if necessary, until the dough comes together.
4. Divide the dough in half. (At this point you can wrap each in plastic wrap and refrigerate for up to 2 days.) If you refrigerate the dough, let it come to room temperature for about 15 minutes before rolling out. Roll out one piece of dough to about 1/8-inch thick, in a 9½ by 12½ rectangle (using lots of flour as it can get sticky). I discovered a great trick on Dirty Jobs for rolling out dough (I know you are thinking “Dirty Jobs?” but trust me). Cover the dough with plastic wrap and then roll it out. This way, it doesn’t stick to the rolling pin. Using a sharp knife, pastry wheel or bench scraper (I used a pizza cutter), trim the rectangle to 9×12 inches. Cut the sheet of dough into nine 3×4 rectangles. Using a spatula, transfer the rectangles to a baking sheet that has been lined with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat.
5. Brush the lightly beaten egg on each of the rectangles. Spoon a tablespoon of filling into the center of each rectangle, leaving a ½-inch of space around the edges.
6. Roll out and cut the second piece of dough in the exact same manner as you did the first. One at a time, place a second rectangle of dough on top of the nine assembled ones. Using your fingers, press around the seams of the dough to make sure they are sealed (if your dough is too soft, refrigerate it now for 30 minutes rather than in the next step). Press the tines of a fork around the edges of the rectangles. Prick the tops of the rectangles in multiple spots to allow steam to escape.
7. Refrigerate the pan with the pastries (you don’t need to cover them) for about 30 minutes. In the meantime, preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until lightly browned. Cool slightly before serving. Store pastries in an airtight container at room temperature for up to one week.

7 Responses to “Homemade Poptarts”

  1. food by katherine April 17, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    I am putting this recipe on my to do list. I will try it with hamantaschen dough. I think my daughters will have a lot of fun making these pop tarts. Fun! Thanks for sharing…found you via tag surfer.

    • Meg's Everyday Indulgence April 17, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the recipe! I can’t wait to be able to bake with my son (he is 9 months)! Hope you and your girls have a great time making them!

  2. yumyumyummers April 17, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    wow! these do look like the real thing! totally takes me back to my childhood days… thanks for sharing!

  3. Nila Henderson April 18, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    These look amazing! I wanted to let you know I am following your blog (via RSS so I don’t think you can tell otherwise) and I LOVE it! Such fun ideas and the pictures add a lot :)

    • Meg's Everyday Indulgence April 18, 2011 at 9:58 am #

      Thank you! I’m so glad you are following the blog and enjoying it! I’m really loving sharing the recipes and photos!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pop Tarts @ Home « food by katherine - April 29, 2011

    [...] Meg’s dough recipe might be easier to roll out, try both and see which one you like better. Mascarpone and Pecan Filling [...]

  2. 18 Months + A Silly Tradition « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - January 19, 2012

    [...] surprised…that boy loves food. If I was a good mama and food blogger, I would have made him homemade poptarts but I don’t always have time for those kinds of things these days. Enjoy the pictures of my [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,668 other followers

