Corn Casserole

11 Apr

Let me start out by telling you I am not a casserole person.  Throwing random ingredients in a baking dish and calling it a meal is just not for me.  I have never liked them.  This is the exception to the rule.

Our family picked up this recipe several years ago from a friend and it has graced every holiday table ever since.  I think any member of my family, including myself, would throw a major tantrum if it wasn’t there.  It has humble, not so fancy ingredients but it is so so good!  And simple!

Corn Casserole

1 stick butter, cubed
1 cup orzo or spaghetti broken into small pieces
1 can corn
1 can cream corn
8 oz. Velveeta, cubed

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
2. Combine all ingredients in a baking dish.
3. Bake for 40 minutes, stirring frequently.

Linked to A Themed Baker’s Sunday, Recipe of the Week, This Week’s Craving and Sharing Sundays.

8 Responses to “Corn Casserole”

  1. Megan M April 11, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    I learned this recipe from my step-in-laws when I got married to Mike. It is yummy!!! We go through 2 batches for holidays (Mike has 4 younger brothers ;)).

    I live on casseroles. I’m suprised you are not more fond of them since you like to bake. I really don’t like to cook, so I’d prefer to bake lunch and supper too! Plus casseroles always = leftovers which I love to have on hand.

    • Meg's Everyday Indulgence April 11, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

      I really need to start learning to love casseroles living in such a cold place! I don’t know what it is about them….just don’t really enjoy them.

  2. Corey November 23, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    So yummy looking! My girls love ANYTHING corn, so they are definitely going to devour this one!

  3. bigbearswife December 20, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    my mom was just telling my yesterday that she was looking for a corn casserole recipe! I’ll send this her way!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Brown Butter Corn « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - September 5, 2012

    [...] after awhile so I am always looking for ways to change it up. We of course love Sweet Corn Cake, Corn Casserole and Smoked Corn but I was in need of a simple and quick weeknight side. When I came across this [...]

  2. 25 Holiday Recipes - November 1, 2012

    [...] Salsa 19. Roasted Turkey and Asparagus 20. Eggnog Coffee Cake 21. Christmas Rolls 22. Corn Casserole 23. Christmas Wedge Salad 24. The Perfect Prime Rib Recipe 25. Traditional Irish Christmas [...]

  3. Twice Baked Cauliflower « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - November 7, 2012

    [...] share this at Thanksgiving this year. Although when we have Thanksgiving at Joel’s family, corn casserole is usually the top request from my recipes. I guess I kind of have a thing for cheesy vegatables. [...]

  4. Thai Sweet Chili Broccoli | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - April 22, 2014

    […] things that I haven’t had in months. Like peanut butter bars, cucumber dip, mac-n-cheese, corn casserole and a cherry coke or two. Needless to say, I felt very sick […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,644 other followers

